GENERAL MEDICAL 8.0
Reporting of Child Abuse -- 8.8

Date Issued: December 31, 1998

Date Last

Revised:

Signature:

By: Cathy R. Taylor, DrPH, MSN, RN

Assistant Commissioner
Bureau of Health Services

POLICY

All cases of known or reasonably suspected child abuse/neglect or child sexual abuse
shall be reported immediately to proper authorities.

APPLICABILITY

This policy applies to all Local Health Department, Regional and Central Office
personnel, including part-time, contractual, and volunteers, whose work brings them in
contact with children under 18 years of age.

PURPOSE

To comply with Tennessee’s mandatory child abuse reporting law and to assist and
support the Department of Children’s Services in the prevention, identification,
treatment, and reporting of child abuse and neglect, including child sexual abuse.

PROCEDURE

Any employee who has knowledge of a child under 18 years of age who has a physical
or mental condition which is, or could be reasonably suspected to be, the result of
abuse, neglect, brutality, or sexual abuse is required to report immediately such
condition to the (1) the Department of Children’s Services (DCS), in a manner specified
by DCS, either, by utilizing the DCS Central intake toll free numbers at 1-800-237-0004
or 1-800-877-54ABUSE, or using the DCS websites http://reportabuse.state.tn.us or
www.state.tn.us/youth, or (2) to the judge having juvenile jurisdiction in the county, or
(3) to the office of the sheriff or (4) to the chief law enforcement officer of the
municipality where the child resides or (5) to contact 911 if the situation indicates an
immediate life-threatening emergency. Employees shall report all cases of suspected



http://reportabuse.state.tn.us/
http://www.state.tn.us/youth

child abuse/neglect, regardless of whether the employee knows or believes that the
child has sustained any apparent injury as a result of the abuse. Any employee who
makes a report of suspected abuse is presumed to have acted in good faith and is
thereby immune from any liability.

The DCS Central Intake Child Abuse Hotline-(1-800-2237-0004 or 1-877-54ABUSE) is
called when the child appears to face an immediate risk of abuse or neglect that could
result in death or serious harm.

The DCS Hotline may be called for these additional situations:

e The caller prefers to remain anonymous;

e The caller has insufficient data to complete the required information on the
report;

e The suspected abuse/neglect to report occurred outside the State of Tennessee
and the caller does not know how to contact the state where it occurred;

e The caller is unsure if the report indicates imminent risk of harm;

e The caller does not want e-mail confirmation of the report.

The DCS website http://reportabuse.state.tn.us/ or www.state.tn.us/youth may be
used for reporting instances of abuse or neglect which do not require and immediate
emergency response and do not fall under the list above.

Any employee who diagnoses or treats a child 13 years of age or younger for a sexually
transmitted disease must report the case to the Communicable and Environmental
Disease Services Section of the Bureau of Health Services using the Notifiable
Disease Case Report, PH-1600. If the case is laboratory confirmed, and if child sexual
abuse is suspected, the suspected abuse must be immediately reported to the
Department of Children’s Services.

For purposes of reporting, investigation, and treatment, child sexual abuse also includes
a child 13 years of age through 17 years of age if such an act is committed against the
child by a parent, guardian, relative, person residing in the child’s home, or other person
responsible for the care and custody of the child.

The Abuse and/or Neglect Report, PH-2947 shall be used for documenting suspected
abuse. The original copy of the PH-2947 shall be maintained in a confidential file
separate from the patient’s health record in the local health department. A copy or the
PH- 2947 Form is sent, marked CONFIDENTIAL to the Regional Nursing Director.
Permission is not needed in order to report the suspected abuse: however, the
employee’s supervisor shall be notified prior to making a report of as soon as possible
following a report.

If requested, DCS Central Intake will send the employee reporting a follow-up
acknowledgement after the referral has been entered into the DCS System. If the
follow-up acknowledgement of the report is requested ad received, the employee will


http://reportabuse.state.tn.us/
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http://10.170.125.47/documents/Forms/Notifiable_Disease_Case_Report_for_Hospitals,_Physicians,_Laboratories(PH-1600).pdf
http://10.170.125.47/documents/Forms/Notifiable_Disease_Case_Report_for_Hospitals,_Physicians,_Laboratories(PH-1600).pdf

attach the acknowledgement to the PH 2947 Form which is filed in the local health
department.

TCA 37-1-403 and TCA 37-1-605 law requires all persons to make a report when they
suspect abuse, neglect or exploitation of children.

Refer to Bureau Policy 3.13 for information on responding to subpoenas and Bureau
Policy 5.1.c for information on release of medical records.

NECESSARY FORMS
1. Abuse and/or Neglect Report, PH-2947

2. Notifiable Disease Case Report, PH-1600
3. Release of Medical Record Information, PH-1778

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS

T.C.A. 37-1-401 et seq.
T.C.A. 37-1-601 et seq.
TCA 37-1-403
TCA 37-1-605

PwpnNdPE

OFFICE OF PRIMARY RESPONSIBILITY
Office of the Medical Director, Bureau of Health Services, (615)741-7305
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